Months in the Middle

It seems hard to believe that we are now at the end of August – over half of the year has disappeared into the past. These months in the middle seem to have flown! Looking back at the monthly blogs over on Life and Other Stories, it is obvious that I have struggled to find time to write to a timetable, but I have, nevertheless, produced a write up of our Monthly Moments consistently. Late…… but eventually written and published. I have to say that I’m actually quite proud of the fact that, despite many, many other distractions I have kept going. I’m also enjoying looking back each month at the various events and activities we have been to.

You can read these various blogs here:

April Moments

Moments in May

June Japes!

July Jollies!

I have also updated all About Andre, Nathan and Cerys.

Finally, I have written about the amazing Brainwave charity that has offered us support, advice and empowerment for the past 24 years. This is the blog that I have tried to promote the most. It feels important to acknowledge how instrumental this charity has been in allowing Nathan and Cerys to reach their full potential and the chance for them to recognise that they can live life on their own terms. This is a plea for the blog to be read and shared, so that other families can be informed of the support that is out there, and be given the opportunity to see their children with disabilities develop into the amazing people they were born to be.

In June Japes! I briefly mention the impact of the lack of care support for Cerys, and this has been true of most of this year. It has felt as if this impact has affected every moment and every waking thought. At the end of July, a new care team started and already I feel that there is a chance that I might be able to start organising myself and even do more writing! If you are a writer, do you find that you spend more time thinking about writing than actually putting ‘Finger to Keyboard’? I’m hoping I will now be able to redress this balance.

I mentioned in the last post on this blog that I had entered a writing competition run by our local Carer’s Association. I was a runner up and I was thrilled that my piece had been read by the judges – the Editor of the local newspaper, a Times columnist and an MP. Unfortunately, there is still no link to share, although I have been told it will feature in an online flipbook. I guess these things take time….. I can’t wait to read the other winners!

Writing morning pages / journalling has kept me sane when things have felt a little crazy on the care front. Sometimes I write in a notebook, and, other times I have sent myself an email – either way works for me! If you journal, do you prefer to write by hand or type? Do you ever email yourself thoughts, ideas and feelings?

I have spent some time exploring Medium and Substack. I very nearly started writing on Medium when I was thinking of setting up this website, but it didn’t feel like the sort of place I would be welcome. All the articles felt very serious and academic (something I definitely am not!) but since then Helen Redfern, who I follow on Instagram, has started writing on there and, suddenly I’m having a rethink……. Maybe? I’ve also started following a few Substack newsletters and maybe that is another avenue I will venture down in the future. For now, though I’m going to concentrate on Life and Other Stories and Finger to Keyboard.

Reading wise I am on the final 100 pages of Barack Obama’s book! The lack of care has led to tiredness and the constant need to give my attention to Cerys. I have struggled to concentrate, and being interrupted every few paragraphs has led to me putting the book to one side for a period of time – but I’m nearly at the finish line now! In between I have also read a fiction book – A Spoonful of Murder.

To my delight, and amazement, when I revisited this site, I discovered I have gained some followers here! Thank you so much. I truly am grateful when anyone stops to read my words.

A quote that has really resonated with me is from Kirsty Gallagher – “Your energy flows where your attention goes”. Something for me to remember…….

Thank you for reading…..

photos of:
Book front cover - A spoonful of Murder
Brainwave logo
\life and other Stories logo

5 Comments

  1. What a busy woman you are! As someone close in age to you, I too regained my love of reading as I approached retirement. An injury had me laid up for several months in 2019 in which time I started blogging. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. djgwriter says:

      Ahh thank you.
      It’s strange isn’t how life twists and turns, but if we loved something when we were younger, we often just need an opportunity to rediscover it.
      Thank you for commenting. It’s so lovely to connect with other bloggers.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done on the writing competition- that’s amazing! I agree with you, I also spend more time thinking rather than writing! Lol

    Jade MumLifeAndMe

    Liked by 1 person

    1. djgwriter says:

      Glad I’m not the only one! Lol!
      Thank you for commenting. It’s always lovely to connect with other writers.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I'm All Booked Up YA says:

    It can be a challenge finding time to write. Sometimes we have so many ideas too. We’re happy that you regained your love of reading.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment